Always Connected – The Good and The Bad.

12 06 2007

Don’t get me wrong, I am a multi-tasker that’s completely addicted to the internet. My computer is always on and when I am away from home I have my handy Cingular 8525 (which, by the way, I love more than any other SmartPhone/PDA I have had) in my hand. The thought of being “unconnected” leaves me with an uneasy queasy feeling inside.

Well, Avis has just introduced WIFI service throughout it’s United States fleet of cars. For a small daily fee, anyone renting a car can surf the internet no matter where they are. Now, don’t get me wrong, I can see the usefulness in the service. I really like that it can be removed from the car and used in your hotels room or wherever else you might end up and I can think of many times while riding along with someone where being able to send some emails or look at Google maps would have been a fantastic amenity but I just can’t fully accept that this is a good thing.

In the back of my mind, I imagine someone driving down a congested highway, checking their MySpace page or stock quotes instead of paying attention to the road ahead. This makes cell phone usage while driving seem so easy. Its a great concept and good technology but Avis has no way of controlling the driver’s responsibility for safety and it seems like it would have a much better place on Amtrak or Greyhound.

I honestly do believe that Avis is trying harder, I just fear for what’s to come. What do you think?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

